About NVUSD Nondiscrimination and Harassment Board of Education Superintendent Business Services Instructional Services Human Resources LeadIn Napa District Calendar Events Hosted by the District
Finding a School Elementary Schools Middle Schools High Schools Napa Valley Independent Studies Napa Valley Adult Education Magnet Schools Charter Schools
Student and Parent Information Parent Organizations Complaints Online Program Home Access Free Online Resources for Students Student Wellness Back to School Information ECHO Parent Accounts Student Calendars Summer 2017 Opportunities for Students Calendarios de estudiantes en español
Faculty and Staff Information Professional Development Standards and Curriculum Resources Interventions
Communications & Community Engagement Flier Approval & Distribution Communications to Parents Bond Measure H

Your High School Counselors

Every high school student in NVUSD is assigned an experienced counselor. Counselors assist students in selecting courses, planning their schedules, and planning for graduation, college, careers and financial aid. Because planning processes and options change continuously, it is imperative that students and parents meet with the student's counselor. 

 

American 
Canyon
High
Napa High New Technology High Valley Oak High Vintage High

Mark DeMesa
9th Grade 
mdemesa@nvusd.org

 

Tricia Hernandez
10th Grade 
tricia_hernandez@nvusd.org

 

Lilliana Zmed

11th Grade 

lzmed@nvusd.org

 

Vanna Som
12th Grade 
vanna_som@nvusd.org


 

Mayra Becerra
9th Grade mbecerra@nvusd.org

 

Stefanie LaMarca 
10th Grade

slamarca@nvusd.org

 

Rafael Ayala
11th Grade 

rayala@nvusd.org

 

Maricela Lopez-Soto
10th Grade mlopez@nvusd.org

 

Ana Andrilla 
AVID, ELD, Senior Specialist

aandrilla@nvusd.org

Lupe Martinez-Ramirez
lramirez@nvusd.org

 

Anne Vallerga

Road to Success

Post-high school plans

avallerga@nvusd.org

Amy Martenson
amy_martenson@nvusd.org

 

Cindy Johnson
9th Grade 
ckjohnson@nvusd.org

 

Matt Eustice
10th Grade 
meustice@nvusd.org

 

Kathleen Brainerd
11th Grade 

kbrainerd@nvusd.org

 

Norma Magdaleno
12th Grade 
norma_magdaleno@nvusd.org

 

Kelli Watkins
College & Career/
Intervention Specialist

kwatkins@nvusd.org

ACHS Counseling Webpage NHS Counseling Webpage NTHS Counseling Webpage VOHS Counseling Webpage VHS Counseling Webpage

Pearls of Wisdom...

My advice to students is to allow themselves to have options. I always advise my students to apply to 9 post-secondary institutions: 

  • 3 "Safe" Schools- schools they can get into
  • 3 "Stretch" Schools- schools they really like but may have a higher GPA /test score requirements
  • 3 private or out of state schools.

All of these schools should offer the degree they are seeking and hopefully are leaders in their major!  Also, students should look at the universities' graduation rates and job placement rates.

Students who follow this advise usually get offers to several universities.  Applying broad and wide is important in keeping options open! At the end of their senior year, if the student decides to attend a community college it will be because it is a "Choice" NOT the only choice they have.

-- Guadalupe Martinez, New Tech HS Counselor